About the Wanneroo Electorate

Number of Electors: 25,467 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.

In the early days of the Swan River Colony, the district of Wanneroo represented an "outer" region and it is not until 1834, that an excursion into the area by any explorers or settlers is recorded. In that year, a party of four led by John Butler, travelled about 35 miles north from Perth to search for lost cattle and passed through the area just to the east of Lake Joondalup. Butler stated that the aborigines of the area were "those Wanneroo men who frequent Perth in company with the Yellowgonga tribe." It is not known when early settlers started using the name "Wanneroo", but, as early as 1842, a Surveyor recorded "road to Wanneroo" and in 1844, James Dobbins gave his address as Wanneroo. A government townsite was gazetted as "Wanneru" in August 1907 and it was not until May 1953 that the spelling was amended to "Wanneroo".
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Ashby, Carabooda*, Carramar, Hocking, Neerabup*, Nowergup*, Pearsall, Pinjar, Sinagra, Tapping, Wanneroo*, and Yanchep*
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information

Government: Carramar Primary School; East Wanneroo Primary School; Hocking Primary School; Pearsall Primary School; Spring Hill Primary School; Tapping Primary School; Wanneroo Primary School; Wanneroo Secondary College

St Anthony's School; St Stephen's School

Local Governments within District
City of Wanneroo (part) ; Statistical Profile of City of Wanneroo

2021 Electoral Boundaries Redistribution

Western Australia’s electoral boundaries are reviewed every four year, two years after a State election. This is done to ensure that, as the number and locations of people change over time, all electorates will contain an acceptable range of electors. 

For more information and to view the new boundaries that will take effect at the 2021 State Election go to: http://www.boundaries.wa.gov.au/